Please enable JavaScript to experience the full functionality of GMX.

Scots unchanged for Calcutta Cup

Scotland have named an unchanged team for the Calcutta Cup game against England but are boosted by WP Nel returning to the bench.

Gregor Townsend has stuck with the same XV who bounced back from the loss to Wales on the opening weekend of the Six Nations to beat France in a pulsating game at Murrayfield.

Townsend's decision means Finn Russel keeps his place at fly-half, despite his struggles during this year's tournament, while Greig Laidlaw, the hero of the win over the French, stays at scrum-half.

Scotland have made changes to their bench with prop Nel named amongst the replacements having overcome the broken arm he suffered during the autumn internationals in November.

Lock Tim Swinson and centre Nick Grigg are also added to the squad with prop Jon Welsh, centre Chris Harris and lock Ben Toolis dropping out of the matchday 23.

Townsend admits trying to overcome England will be a massive test for his players but believes they have shown they are capable of beating the best at Murrayfield.

Townsend said: "The players put a huge amount of effort into our win over France. They found a way to win and kept attacking the opposition up until the final whistle.

"England are the number two side in the world and have shown a very good level of consistency in the past couple of seasons.

"This is due to the quality of their playing and coaching staff, who have done a tremendous job.

"They have a very good defence, an excellent set-piece and like to get 10 and 12 on the ball as much as possible in attack.

"Taking on England is going to be a huge challenge and we are well aware that only our very best will be good enough in this fixture."

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Pete Horne, 11 Sean Maitland, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 1 Gordon Reid, 2 Stuart McInally, 3 Simon Berghan, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 5 Jonny Gray, 6 John Barclay (c), 7 Hamish Watson, 8 Ryan Wilson.

Replacements: 16 Scott Lawson, 17 Jamie Bhatti, 18 Willem Nel, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 David Denton, 21 Ali Price, 22 Nick Grigg, 23 Blair Kinghorn.

Sponsored Content