The tech giant had come under heavy criticism this week after it was revealed that turning off the feature didn't stop users being tracked through things like Google Maps, weather updates and browser searches.
Now, the help page for Location History reads: "This setting does not affect other location services on your advice", and adds that "some location data may be saved as part of your activity on other services, like Search and Maps".
The previous message for users was that "the places you go are no longer stored", which turned out to be misleading.
Although the feature itself hasn't changed, the company has changed the language to better reflect what's actually happening.
However, users can still turn off tracking through the Web and App Activity option - which is automatically enabled as default - to stop Google from storing Maps data and browser searches.